Alot of words (read before you judge me)

I’m a journalist. Consequently, I like grammar and correct spelling. I’m not saying this blog is written in perfect AP Style or doesn’t resemble a stream of consciousness rather than a well-constructed news story, but I try to adhere to the basic grammar tenets of our wacko language.

That being said, I’d like to introduce you to my friend, Alot of Words:

Alot of Words

Alot of Words is obviously related to a popular post by Hyperbole and a Half. I like Alot a lot because he reminds me that “alot” is not actually a word unless you are referring to our wordy friend here.

“Alot,” as it is used by a lot of people, is one of my biggest pet peeves. I try not to be a grammar snob – I even delayed this post a couple times because I didn’t want it to look like I was responding directly to some Facebook statuses that popped up on my news feed – but this is an easy rule to remember.

So, friends, when you want to talk about “a lot of words” or “a lot of hair” or even “a lot of people,” remember to put that extra space instead of calling upon the name of a made-up creature.

Leave a Reply

