And now for dessert…

The yummy chocolate chip scones I made earlier this week. The recipe was very easy and turned out great.

Almost a year ago TK came to visit me at school one weekend and my friend made scones for us out of a new cookbook. TK had never had scones and absolutely loved them. Ever since then he’s been asking me to make scones but I’ve been very intimidated by the request. They seem so hard to make for some reason!

The other day I caved and made some homemade scones. As soon as I put them in the oven I was nervous because it was not difficult to make the dough at all.

Surprise! They turned out great! This is definitely something we’re going to keep in our minds for a quick yet delicious snack/dessert.

I slightly revised the recipe from something I found on AllRecipes. Here are my revised instructions:

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and cubed
  • Generous 1/2 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips (and by generous I mean I kind of dropped a whole bunch more in the dough after the 1/2 cup)
  • 7 tablespoons orange juice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. With a pastry blender or a large fork, cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in the chocolate chips. Mix in the orange juice to form a dough. Keep adding more orange juice until it’s dough-y (mine took 7 tablespoons).
  3. Turn out the dough on a floured surface. Pat or roll into a 9 inch circle about 1/2 inch thick. Cut into triangles. I think my dough came up with 10 or 12 total.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until golden brown, about 12 minutes. Move to wire racks to cool.
Leave a Reply

