Sweet!

Remember that one time I said I was going to be better about posting? Well I slipped up again. Whoops!

In the meantime, TK and I have been getting the apartment in order (photos will come soon) and getting out more so we don’t just sit at home and watch Hulu every night. Friday night we went out to see his boss play in an 80s cover band – crazy fun – and Saturday we went on a date night for dinner and a movie. We saw the new flick “Blue Like Jazz.” It was pretty good but TK said the book was much better, so that’s next on my list of books to read.

Before our weekend gallivanting, one night this past week (can’t remember which night) I tried something new to get some more healthy food in our diet. I’ve already posted about the black bean burgers we love and eat on a semi-regular basis, but this week I wanted to try a new side.

I’ve always hated sweet potatoes. Well, let me rephrase. I’ve always thought I hated sweet potatoes. Growing up we had sweet potato casserole with all our holiday dinners. Most in my family love the marshmallow-topped gooey dish but I couldn’t stand it. I don’t know if it was the texture (I’m weird when it comes to texture) or what but I’d take two servings of green been casserole and pass on the sweet potatoes.

Somewhere along the way I started to try sweet potatoes in other forms and discovered they weren’t that bad. This week I made my own sweet potato fries to go with our black bean burgers and they turned out pretty good!

Cut and ready to be seasoned and baked! The original recipe said to peel the potatoes but I thought they were fine with the skin on.

I didn’t know what I was doing, so I took my cue from this recipe I found. Here is my slightly revised version:

Ingredients:

1 – 1 1/2 lb sweet potatoes
1/4 cup oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil (preferably the easy release kind).

Cut into strips that are about 1/2 inch wide on each side.

Place the sweet potatoes into a resealable plastic bag. Add oil, salt, paprika and cinnamon. Seal the bag and shake well to thoroughly coat the fries. Spread the potatoes out onto the baking sheet in a single layer.

Cook for 30 minutes, turning every 10 minutes, until slightly browned. Transfer immediately to a paper towel lined plate and serve warm.

They look kinda withery but I promise they were good!

All in all a good meal! We’re working on more TK-friendly veggie dishes. It’s been working out so far!

2 thoughts on “Sweet!

Leave a Reply

