Coffee obsessed?

I really like coffee. And I like cooking. So when I found a recipe that incorporated coffee into a main dish I was sold.

Our coffee-rubbed steak with rice and a squash/zucchini medley sauteed with Cajun seasoning.

The other night TK and I had coffee-rubbed steak. I have heard of this before and found a couple recipes while surfing online, so I thought I’d go ahead and see how it actually tasted. It was pretty good! It wasn’t too coffee-y but it had a nice flavor and was incredibly easy to make (that’s my favorite kind of recipe!).

Here’s basically what I did:

Coffee-rubbed steak

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. grilling steak
  • 1/2 tablespoon finely ground coffee (the only kind we had was caramel flavored and it turned out great)
  • 1/2 tablespoon chili powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat a large cast-iron skillet (large enough to fit the steak).
  2. Combine the coffee and chili powder to make a rub.
  3. Rub the mixture on the steak. Add salt and pepper if you want (I did).
  4. Cook the steak four to five minutes on each side in the skillet. Cook longer if you (or in my case, my husband) doesn’t like any pink in your steak
  5. Let the steak sit a few minutes before serving.

See, I told you it was easy! I served ours with sauteed squash and zucchini and some rice. The full pound of steak was obviously more than enough for us so we had leftovers for an easy meal later that week!

Leave a Reply

