More sweet potato surprises

It’s no secret TK and I love black bean burgers. They’re easy, delicious and fairly healthy. So when my mother-in-law sent me a recipe for sweet potato burgers I had to give them a try!

Sweet potato burger. Mm!

First, a little comparison. Technically these sweet potato burgers are vegan and when I make black bean burgers I use an egg as a binder, so I found the sweet potato burgers did not hold together as well as my black bean burgers. They were very good and I wasn’t overwhelmed with a taste of sweet potatoes, so whether that’s good or bad is up to you.

All in all they were very good. The original recipe called for avocados on top, but TK and I aren’t really avocado people (I’ve tried – really I have – but I think its a texture thing. I’ll try again soon though.) so we had ours plain. I’m trying to think of healthy condiments (mayo isn’t exactly touted as being great for you) but so far it’s just my burgers, my bun and me.

The recipe I used made six burgers! We’ve already eaten four (two nights of the burgers – one with zucchini/squash and another with homemade french fries). There’s still one batch in the freezer for later this week.

Here’s my modified recipe:

Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans white beans (we used Great Northern Beans)
  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • seasoned breadcrumbs to coat the patties

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Bake the sweet potato and peel.
  3. Add the drained beans. Mash the beans and potato together.
  4. Mash in the tahini, syrup, Cajun seasoning and flour.
  5. Form patties and coat in breadcrumbs.
  6. Bake until firm, about 25 minutes.

They’re really good and pretty healthy! I decided to bake instead of fry because they were a little more flimsy than the black bean burgers. They turned out great and, like I said, freeze really nicely.

Leave a Reply

