Crock Pot: Baked Potato Soup

In my last post I said I had some goals for this month, and this post I’m going to give you an update and then a couple yummy recipes. I know, get excited.

So here are my goals:

1. Start running again – Well, I was going to start that this afternoon, but we had thunderstorms all around us and all the running websites I’ve visited said not to risk it if there’s lightning. And for some reason our apartment complex’s “fitness center” doesn’t have a treadmill. Hopefully the weather will clear up and I can start tomorrow.

2. Learn at least two healthy crock-pot recipes – TK and I just finished eating a delicious baked potato soup. Usually I’m leery of potato soups because they tend to be so creamy, but I eliminated the milk (which was kind of a mistake while reading the recipe but it still turned out great!), so it was better than I was expecting. Plus it was very tasty. Look below for the recipe (plus the recipe for the cheesy biscuits I made with it!).

3. Watch some football – I’m currently watching the UL- Monroe/Arkansas game. Did you know a pass interference gets 15 yards and a first down for the team the pass interference was performed against? I learned that tonight.

4. Continue learning more about HTML/CSS – Totally did that this week. I started writing code! I can now write a heading for my website. That’s a start, right?

5. Join my church in reading the New Testament – TK and I have been keeping up with this and I’ve already learned a lot. It’s interesting to read through the book of Matthew (for example) and keeping the author in mind. He had a much different perspective and audience than other writers such as Luke.

And now, the grand finale, the delicious recipes from tonight’s meal! I adapted the soup recipe from 365 Days of Slow Cooking and the cheesy biscuits came from Plain Chicken.

Baked Potato Soup

Baked Potato Soup

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium red potatoes, cubed
  • 3/4 cup diced onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cube chicken bouillon
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • Toppings: cheese, sour cream, bacon, etc.

Directions:

  1. Saute onions in a frying pan until soften. Add them to the crock pot.
  2. Add potatoes, garlic, bay leaf, salt, water and bouillon to the crock pot.
  3. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 (until potatoes are cooked).
  4. Toward the very end of the cooking time, create a roux in a large stock pot. Melt butter over low heat and slowly whisk the flour in.
  5. Start adding the crock-pot contents to the roux one cup at a time, whisking until thick.
  6. Once all the crock-pot contents are added, let it simmer for a few minutes.
  7. Ladle into bowls and top with any toppings you want.

Cheesy Biscuits

Cheesy Biscuits

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups Bisquick
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Coat muffin tin with cooking spray.
  2. Still all ingredients and scoop into muffin pan.
  3. Bake 12-15 minutes.

Helpful hint for this meal: I bought enough cheese to top my soup and use in the biscuits. I also put a pan of bacon in the oven with the muffins so we could have crispy bacon for our soup. It worked out to be one of my best-timed meals!

One thought on “Crock Pot: Baked Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

