Thai food meets the Italian in me

One popular dish I see fusing two different cuisines is the delicious Thai chicken pizza. As is evident on this blog I love Thai food, my husband loves pizza and I love trying new things.

Thai chicken pizza. Definitely a winner.

First of all, let me dote upon Trader Joe’s pizza dough. So amazing! It comes in a dough-y ball that you let rise for a few minutes, roll out and then bake with your toppings. TK’s first remark when he took a bite of the pizza was, “This pizza is good, but the crust is great!”

I took this recipe from a couple different sources but kind of threw it together. So here it is:

Thai Chicken Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shredded chicken
  • 9 ounce jar peanut satay sauce
  • 1 package Trader Joe’s pizza dough (or just a pre-made crust, but I highly recommend Trader Joe’s dough!)
  • shredded carrots
  • two green onions, cut into inch-long pieces
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella

Directions:

  1. Combine half the sauce and the chicken in a bowl and place in fridge to marinate for at least 45 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  3. Prepare dough according to package. Stretch out on baking sheet.
  4. Spread the remaining sauce on the dough, then sprinkle cheese and chicken on top.
  5. Top with shredded carrots and green onions.
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes until dough is cooked through.

This also would have been good with peanuts on it, but I thought we had some at home when I went grocery shopping and got home to realize we didn’t. Next time I’ll add unsalted peanuts with the carrots and green onions. Mmm!

Eat me!

2 thoughts on “Thai food meets the Italian in me

Leave a Reply

