Foliage and feasting

The leaves they were crisped and sere –
The leaves they were withering and sere;

-“Ulalume,” Edgar Allan Poe

We’re officially past October and I have decided to embrace the fact that I will be waking up to cool mornings and chilly weather for a few months. It is officially time for boots, sweaters, soups and festivities.

Our apartment complex has become a beautiful spattering of fall colors as the leaves turn from green to yellow to bright oranges and reds. I’ve enjoyed walking to my car while crunching the leaves, reminding myself of my 10th grade literature class where the Venerable Mr. Friedman littered the floor with leaves as we trounced around reciting Poe’s “Ulalume.”

Usually our apartment complex is filled with as many children as there are leaves, but last night I only had four Trick-or-Treaters come to my door. How disappointing! I had one group of three kids in their early teens come by and they told me people were afraid to come to my door because we live in the back of the building right near the woods. I guess that makes sense – it is a little creepy back there. So now I have about six pounds of Tootsie Rolls, York Peppermint Patties and Peanut Butter M&Ms. I think TK and I are set until Easter (at least).

Creamy tomato soup with tortellini, served with grilled cheese.

It is definitely time for soups, and I think I found a winner earlier this week: Creamy tomato soup with tortellini. Usually when I make something new I ask TK what I could do better. His response to this recipe: “Nothing. Wait – more. Just make more of it so I can eat it all week for lunch.” Alright then!

I found the recipe via Pinterest on Tasty Kitchen. I followed the recipe fairly closely with just minor changes. TK did mention it could use more tortellini and I would agree with him on that.

Creamy Tomato Soup with Tortellini

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 2 cans of condensed tomato soup (I used Campbell’s Select Harvest Tomato with Basil)
  • 1/3 coup sun dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 cups half and half
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsps Italian seasoning
  • 1 9 oz package cheese tortellini
  • shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. In a large stockpot, saute garlic with oil over medium heat.
  2. Add tomato soup, tomatoes, milk, half and half, chicken stock and spices. Bring to a simmer.
  3. Drop tortellini in the soup and cook according to the package.
  4. Ladle soup into bowls and top with cheese.

(This made quite a bit of soup – enough for dinner and a few lunches. TK would like more but I don’t think I have a pot big enough for that!)

Yum!

Leave a Reply

