Ginger, honey, cashews … mmm!

Ginger honey cashew chicken. Very good!!

Last night I decided to try a new recipe (shocker, I know). TK and I love anything that’s pseudo-Asian and I found this recipe for ginger honey cashew chicken. I make a pretty decent cashew chicken, so I thought this would be good yet familiar. Let me tell you, that ginger made all the difference! It was really good! It’s by far one of my favorite dinners I’ve made in a while.

I pretty much stuck with the recipe I found, but my cayenne pepper disappeared so I improvized and used crushed red pepper. Not the same, I know, but very good none the less!

Here’s the recipe for ya:

Ginger Honey Cashew Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 2 large chicken breasts cut into strips
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons fresh minced ginger
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/3 cup roughly chopped roasted cashews

Directions:

  1. Lay the chicken breast strips on a large plate. Sprinkle with cornstarch, salt and ginger. Toss so all the strips are coated well and refrigerate for 20-30 minutes.
  2. While the chicken is in the fridge, whisk together the chicken broth, honey, green onions and cayenne pepper (or, ya know, crushed red pepper if you’re like me). Set aside.
  3. Heat the oil over medium high heat in a large skillet. Drop the chicken in and cook for about eight minutes. When chicken is done, remove and place on a plate to keep warm.
  4. Deglaze the pan with the sauce and whisk well to get up any little bits of chicken stuck to the bottom of the pan. Simmer for a couple minutes and then add the chicken, as well as the cashews, back to the pan. Cook for another five minutes so that the sauce can thicken and the chicken can warm back up if cool.

I served mine with rice and it was so good. Also, deglazing a pan is my new favorite trick. Makes me feel like a real cook for some reason.

Leave a comment