Red velvet goodness

Last week TK and I went to a Christmas party hosted by our Sunday School class. We had a ton of fun! We usually get together once a week and each bring a side item to go with the meal our host makes, but for the party we each brought steaks and a side dish. The guys grilled the steaks and we had a fantastic meal.

Someone requested I handle dessert, so I felt just a little pressure to make it exceptional. Luckily, I found this recipe for red velvet cookies and they were a hit!

Red velvet cookies

Red velvet cookies

I’ve never made red velvet anything from scratch – it always intimidated me for some reason- but these turned out pretty good if I say so myself. The original recipe called for white chocolate chunks but I used white chocolate chips because of cost and ease. And I like chips better 🙂

I also made peppermint cupcakes so I’ll do another post on those in a few days. They were pretty delicious too!

Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoons  salt
  • 8 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
  • 5 tablespoons shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 tablespoons red food coloring
  • 8 ounces white chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350º.
  2. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
  3. In a mixing bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, cornstarch, baking soda and salt, and set aside.
  4. In another bowl, beat butter, shortening and sugar. Mix in egg and egg yolk. Add vinegar, vanilla and food coloring and mix.
  5. Slowly add in dry ingredients and mix just until combined.
  6. Carefully mix in white chocolate chips.
  7. Scoop dough out by rounded tablespoonfuls and roll into balls and place about 2 inches apart on prepared cookie sheets.
  8. Bake for 12-13 minutes. Allow to cool several minutes before removing  to a wire rack to cool.

One thought on “Red velvet goodness

Leave a comment