Feeling pretty rad

goal 4I promise I’m not conceited – just rad! I participated in the Color Me Rad 5K in Little Rock June 15 and it was awesome. It was my first 5K and I had been training off and on for a while. I didn’t run the whole thing, but it was great to participate! It wasn’t timed or anything so there wasn’t a ton of pressure. There were all sorts of runners there – slow, fast, competitive, costumed. It was a lot of fun!

My "after" photo for the Color Me Rad 5K. It was awesome!

My “after” photo for the Color Me Rad 5K. It was awesome!

Here are some observations I tried to take note of while I was running:

  • Some course (like this one) may have hills not accounted for in training. Be prepared.
  • Water. Lots of it.
  • Themed races like this are probably even more fun with a friend! I had a friend signed up with me but she had some family obligations and couldn’t make it.
  • iPhone/iPod protection is important. I didn’t have any problems, but I could see how some people might with this race.
  • I want to run more.
  • Running is actually really fun.

So, yes. I like to run. I made some goals for myself and I’d like to run (like, run the whole thing) a 5K in the late fall. There is also a huge race weekend in Little Rock in March, so maybe I can up my game and participate? We shall see!

2 thoughts on “Feeling pretty rad

  1. I think it’s great that you got an enjoyment of running out of your 5K experience! My favorite race so far has been through one of those drive-thru Christmas light deals. You might see if there is something similar in your area.

Leave a comment